LYRASIS Open Access Community Investment Program

LYRASIS Open Access Community Investment Program


oacip logo

The Big Ten Academic Alliance and LYRASIS announced a collective action agreement that provides financial support from the fifteen member libraries for the Open Access Community Investment Program (OACIP). With this agreement, the institutions of the BTAA assert their principled commitment to a more equitable society and help open scholarship for worldwide public good.

 The LYRASIS Open Access Community Investment Program (OACIP) is a community-driven framework that enables multiple stakeholders to efficiently and strategically evaluate and fund three diamond open access journals thru a  non-APC funding model.

Algebraic Combinatorics (ALCO) is a mathematics journal that published its first issue in January 2018. It is a specialty journal in the burgeoning field of algebraic combinatorics, spanning across and intricately linking several areas of mathematical research. It is owned by mathematicians, dedicated to free dissemination of research, and committed to non-APC Open Access publishing, with no fees for authors or readers.

 History of Media Studies (HMS) is a new, peer-reviewed, scholar-run, diamond OA journal founded to augment understanding of the ways that media have been conceived, investigated, and studied around the world.

 Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication (JLSC) is a peer-reviewed open access journal with no article processing charges. JLSC is particularly interested in the intersection of librarianship and publishing and the resulting role of libraries in both content dissemination and content creation. Related areas of interest include new methods for the dissemination of information and information exchange; the theory and practice of the organization, use and curation of information; and issues related to the review, credentialing, reputation, and impact of scholarly work.

Participating Institutions:
University of Chicago
University of Illinois
Indiana University
University of Iowa
University of Maryland
University of Michigan
Michigan State University
University of Minnesota
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Northwestern University
Ohio State University
Pennsylvania State University
Purdue University
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
University of Wisconsin-Madison